Books · Life

2017 Book Challenge – A Book Published in the Last Year

So here is my first read of the 2017 Book Challenge. This book was read as part of a bookclub and probably wasn’t something I would have read ordinarily. The book was ‘Small Great Things’ by Jodi Picoult. If you want to find out more about my pledge to read more in 2017 read ‘2017 Book Challenge’. This book ticks off the ‘A book published in the last year’ category.

This book was a real hard hitting page turner. I say page turner. I actually listened to the Audiobook. But on those grey mornings at the beginning of this year, when I was sat in traffic on my morning commute, somehow it didn’t matter. Because this book grasped all of my attention.

I would not like to ruin this book for anyone who has not read it, however I hugely recommend this book to anyone. I have read a few books by Picoult, all of which have got me thinking. But this was far and away my favourite. Jodi broached really difficult and deep reaching issues with complete sensitivity.

Predictably Picoult does not shy away from particularly difficult subject; race, racism, death, love, hate, and all the while makes us question what we know (or think we know) about ourselves. And all this with utter thought provoking sensitivity and skill. Vary impressive. I absolutely recommend this to read (or listen too).

Leave a Reply

