Books · Craft · Home · Interior · Life · Photography

Faffing with photography

So since I can remember, I have been obsessed with photography, with capturing what I see. One of my most memorable presents as a kid was a primary coloured film camera. I still have some of the pictures I took, in albums. Mostly wonky pictures of cats, with fingers in the corner. I would not say I have ever been a natural, but the passion and want to capture what I see has always been there.

This passion (possibly obsession) has only ever increased. I have been through a number of cameras over the years, taking pictures with varying degrees of success. Some of my interest have come and gone, but photography has been a constant. Some people really don’t understand it, but I really don’t understand people who don’t feel the drive to capture the world around them.

So I really love weekends like this, when after a week of not seeing my house in daylight, I can spend the morning mooching around and faffing with my camera, taking pictures of frankly anything. It really helps that today is the kind of crisp and clear January day that just make Winter. If the whole of winter was like this then I might be able to reconcile myself better to this longest of seasons.

At the moment I am a little obsessed with my Nikkor 50mm 1.8. I really love this little lens. After years and years of taking pictures, I fell this lens has really unleashed some creativity! And the images are just so clear! I would hugely recommend for anyone who is new to a DSLR as I am.

I just love the effect that winter light has had on the outside images. I have overexposed some of them and some of the grasses have been taken out of focus, which I think adds some texture.

Leave a Reply

